What is your sentence?

We have been researching social media and it’s pros and cons. How SM can make life amazing and the great things that can be done to change the world in a positive way all the way to the negatives that could come from improper use.

This made me think of a question that had been posed in Daniel Pink’s book Drive, What is your sentence?  Teachers posted their own sentences explaining in 1 sentence How they want to be remembered? Examples include…

She equipped students with the strategies they would need to cope positively with life’s difficult situations and to solve conflicts peacefully.

She creates a classroom community where everyone can feel valued and special. She fosters kindness, empathy, and curiosity. She is an advocate for kids.

She teaches her students to move to their own beat as well as the steady beat.

He taught two generations of kids how to read.

Holy cow! I wanted to share this with my students! See what they were thinking if I made them come up with their “sentence”. But how? What can make them connect it to their lives? A video and a song!

At the start of every class I show a short (usually less than 5 minutes) motivational video clip or maybe even a song.

I thought of this video,

This could be a direct way for my students to think about how they wanted to live their life and how they want their peers to see them.

I played the video, asked the kids to describe Zach Sobiech in 1 sentence. They wrote amazing sentences about him living life to the fullest, putting smiles on the faces of others, having a happy aura and making others feel good when they are around him.

But what would they say when I turned the tables on them and had them write about their own lives? I asked them to create a sentence of their own about themselves. Make it both a goal for a way of living and possibly an accomplishment they wanted to reach.

See for yourselves!

 

1st hour sentences 2nd hour sentences 3rd hour sentences 6th hour sentences

Well, my students did it again. They impressed me. Now to the exciting part, having them bring the passion they have in these sentences to how they live their lives. I am excited to see where they take their journey.

Categories: 1 | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “What is your sentence?

  1. Jeff McMartin

    Well done, good and faithful servant!

  2. LeAnne

    Love it! Thanks for sharing!

  3. She told me every single day that she loved me.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

