Hunger Trial!

We are putting hunger on trial! Not really, but we are studying Irish Immigration in the 1840’s and 1850’s and our activity is to have a mock trial putting various groups on trial to decide why so many people either died or left Ireland in the 19th century and came to America.

The student groups will be given a “defendant” role in our trial. The groups will prepare their defenses and prepare questions and indictments of other groups in the trial in order to become less guilty.

Once the groups have prepared their statements they will make to the jury, we will be ready for trial. Each group will present their innocence, guilt or deflect blame to other groups during the trial as well as answer questions from the jury.

Here is where YOU come in!!! We need a jury! Our trial date is April 28.

I have shared the readings here, which will help you, our jury, prepare.  The trial will last 1 class period (approximately 1 hour). At the end of the trial, you will decide the verdict and present it to the class. I would like to make the jury as realistic as possible so the more jurors we can get, the better. Last year we had 10 jurors in one class.

Our class period times are as follows: (you could volunteer to come to your child’s class hour or another hour)

1st Hour: 8:10 – 9:09

2nd Hour: 9:15 – 10:10

3rd Hour: 10:15 – 11:11

4th Hour: 11:46 – 12:43

Ok! Now the PLEA! Please!!! This is your chance to be a part of our learning.

Respond to this post with questions, comments, or volunteer.

I can also be reached at ekipling@springlakeschools.org.

Categories: 1 | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Hunger Trial!

  1. Mr. Kipling

    2nd hour. I will mark you down Carla. Thank You!

  2. Mr. K. What time should I be there. I would like to be in Brooke’s class. However. If you need me in your other class just let me know. Thanks!

    Carla Marod

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Mr. K, Sign me up

    Carla Marod

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. Karen Cunningham

    I would love to be a juror. First hour would be my first pick.

  5. Elyse Winter

    I can come in 1st hour. Thanks Elyse Winter

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

